How to remove a client from your Practice Dashboard
This article explains how to remove a client from your Practice Dashboard, what happens after the client has been removed, and what to do if you accidentally remove a client.
Please note that removing a client takes immediate effect and you will no longer be able to access the client’s account or data once they have been removed.
Senior account managers can access all of the practice's clients who are using FreeAgent and can remove any client under the ‘All clients’ tab. Non-senior account managers can only access and remove clients that are assigned to them under the ‘My clients’ tab or added to the same account manager and client group.
Begin by logging in to your Practice Dashboard and selecting the name of the client you wish to remove.
Next, select 'Remove from dashboard' from the 'More' drop-down menu.
Select a reason for removing the client from the ‘Reason’ drop-down menu. Please note that if you select ‘Other’, you’ll need to enter additional information in the ‘Details’ box.
What happens next?
If you were managing the client's FreeAgent account before you removed them, the client will have a two-week grace period during which they can access or export their data. The client will receive an email notifying them of this and advising what steps they need to take to either retain their FreeAgent account or cancel.
NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank NI or Mettle-funded clients
If the client's account is funded by NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank NI or Mettle, once you have removed the client from your dashboard, their free account will continue to be free and active, so the client can continue to use it if they wish. They will be informed of this via email.
If the client you removed was linked to your Practice Dashboard, the billing arrangements for the account will remain with the client. They will be able to access and use their FreeAgent account as before, but your access will be revoked. They will be informed of this via email.
Removed a client by accident?
If you accidentally remove a client from your Practice Dashboard and would like to reinstate them, please see our guidance on how to transfer an existing FreeAgent account.