Knowledge Base Getting Started Frequently Asked Questions

How to delete an invoice

This article explains how to delete an invoice that you’ve created in FreeAgent.

HMRC guidance states that if you have sent an invoice to your customer and need to make any changes, you should create a credit note for the incorrect invoice, and then send a new invoice to your customer with the correct details. In FreeAgent, you can then match the credit note against the original invoice.

If you haven’t sent the invoice to your customer, or you would rather not raise a credit note, then you can follow the steps below to delete the invoice. Please note that an invoice cannot be recovered once it’s been deleted.

For information on editing an invoice, please see this article.

1. Find the invoice

Navigate to the ‘Work’ tab at the top of the screen and select ‘Invoicing’ from the drop-down menu.

Correct_1.png

Select the relevant invoice from the list.

Correct_2.png

2. Mark the invoice back to draft status

Before you can delete the invoice, it must be in draft status.

To mark an invoice back to draft status, select ‘Make Draft’ above the invoice template. If the invoice has been marked as paid, you’ll need to remove the payment link first.

Delete_1.png

3. Delete the invoice

Once the invoice is in draft status, select ‘Delete’ in the top-right to remove the invoice from your account.

Delete_2.png

Select ‘OK’ in the pop-up window to complete the process.

Delete_3.png

A record of the invoice having been deleted will appear in your Audit Trail report.

Delete_4.png

Did you find this article useful?