How to cancel your FreeAgent subscription via the FreeAgent mobile app

This article explains how to cancel your FreeAgent subscription via the FreeAgent mobile app on iOS devices.

Please note that you won't be able to use the FreeAgent mobile app if you have an unincorporated landlord account.

If you choose to cancel your FreeAgent subscription, you will immediately lose access to your account. As per our terms of service, we are unable to offer a pro-rata refund for any remaining period of unused subscription.

Please note that the functionality is available on iOS devices only. You’ll need full (level 8) access to your FreeAgent account to be able to cancel your subscription.

If you wish to edit your FreeAgent subscription, please see this article instead.

Before you start

Export or print relevant files and data

Before you cancel your FreeAgent subscription, please ensure that you log in to the desktop version and export any data that you may need to access at a later date.

You may also want to print copies of your Self Assessment tax returns, VAT returns, profit and loss reports, trial balances and balance sheet reports for future reference.

For any accounting reports in FreeAgent that don’t have a print option, you can either copy and paste the contents of the page to a spreadsheet, or print them as a PDF using your browser's print command ('Ctrl + P' if you're using a PC or 'Cmd + P' if you're using a Mac).

To save a copy of an invoice you've created in FreeAgent, navigate to the relevant invoice by selecting the ‘Work’ tab at the top of the screen and choosing ‘Invoicing’ from the drop-down menu. From the invoice, select ‘Save as PDF’ in the top-right. You will need to save each invoice individually.

Future communication

Please note that cancelling your subscription does not automatically opt you out of future marketing contact from FreeAgent. To opt out of these, select the ‘Unsubscribe’ link at the bottom of any previous emails that you’ve received from FreeAgent.

How to cancel your subscription

Open the FreeAgent mobile app on your iOS device and log in using your FreeAgent login details if prompted. If you’ve accessed the app recently, you may be logged in automatically.

cancel.jpeg

Tap the three-lined 'hamburger' icon at the top-left of the screen to open the 'Settings' menu and select ‘My Details’.

cancel_2.jpeg

Select ‘Additional settings & password reset’ at the bottom of the screen.

cancel_3.jpeg

This will bring up a login screen to log in to the desktop version of FreeAgent. Enter your login credentials and select ‘Log me in!’.

cancel_4.jpeg

Once you’ve logged in, you’ll be taken to the ‘Users’ screen. Select ‘Billing’ from the drop-down menu in the top-right of the screen.

cancel_5.jpeg
Next, scroll down and select ‘Cancel My Subscription’ at the bottom of the screen.

cancel_6.jpg

A warning will appear advising that the cancellation will take immediate effect and that you’ll no longer be able to log in to your FreeAgent account.

cancel_7.jpeg

There will also be a notice advising that your data will be automatically deleted after one year as per our privacy policy.

If you change your mind and you’d like your FreeAgent account to be reinstated before the data has been deleted, please see this article.

Please note that we will not be able to recover any of your data once it has been deleted.

If you’d prefer your data to be deleted immediately, please see this article instead of following the steps below.

cancel_8.jpeg

Next, select a reason for cancelling your subscription from the ‘Reason’ drop-down menu. You can enter additional information in the ‘Details’ box if you wish.

cancel_9.jpeg

Finally, select ‘Cancel My Subscription’ to complete the process. If you no longer wish to cancel your subscription, select ‘I've changed my mind’ instead.

Please note that if you have any GoCardless mandates set up with a contact, these will be automatically cancelled when you cancel your FreeAgent subscription. If you have any bank feeds enabled, these will be automatically disabled.

cancel_10.jpeg

If you wish to return to FreeAgent in the future after your data has been deleted, you can sign up for a new account.

Did you find this article useful?