How to delete your FreeAgent account

This article explains how to permanently delete your FreeAgent account.

Please note that if you choose to delete your FreeAgent account, you will immediately lose access to your account. Your data will also be scheduled for permanent deletion seven days later and cannot be recovered after that date. As per our terms of service, we are unable to offer a pro-rata refund for any remaining period of unused subscription.

Alternatively, if you'd like to stop paying for FreeAgent for now but think you might want to use it again in the future, you can cancel your subscription instead. If you do this, you will lose access to your account immediately but we'll store your account data securely for one year before automatically deleting it. This option would allow you to reactivate your account any time within one year of the cancellation date.

Please note that you’ll need full (level 8) access to your FreeAgent account to be able to delete your account.

Deleting your account

Select 'Settings' from the drop-down menu in the top-right corner and then select 'Delete Account'.

Delete.png

This will bring up the ‘Delete Account’ screen. Review the details for cancelling your subscription or resetting your data options.

delete_1.png

To begin the deletion process, you will first need to export any data, files and attachments that you may need to access at a later date. To do this, select ‘Export Data’.

delete_2.png

Review the details provided on the ‘Export All Data’ screen, select which option you would like to export then select ‘Export data’.

delete_2.5.png

You may also want to print copies of your Self Assessment tax returns, VAT returns, profit and loss reports, trial balances and balance sheet reports for future reference.

For any accounting reports in FreeAgent that don’t have a print option, you can either copy and paste the contents of the page to a spreadsheet, or print them as a PDF using your browser's print command ('Ctrl + P' if you're using a PC or 'Cmd + P' if you're using a Mac).

To save a copy of an invoice you've created in FreeAgent, navigate to the relevant invoice by selecting the ‘Work’ tab at the top of the screen and choosing ‘Invoicing’ from the drop-down menu. From the invoice, select ‘Save as PDF’ in the top-right. You will need to save each invoice individually.

Once you have successfully exported your data, navigate back to the ‘Delete Account’ screen via the 'Settings' from the drop-down menu.

Next, review the information below ‘Please confirm that you understand the following’. Tick the checkboxes to the left of the three statements and enter your FreeAgent password to confirm that you understand the implications of deleting your FreeAgent account.

delete_3.png

Select ‘Delete my account forever’ to complete the process or ‘I’ve changed my mind’ to exit the ‘Delete account’ screen.

delete_4.png

Once you've confirmed that you want to delete your account, it will be scheduled for deletion seven days later. After that period we will not be able to recover any of your data.

Did you find this article useful?