This article explains how to hide a user in your FreeAgent account.
Why hide a user?
You can't delete a user if you've ever recorded transactions against that user, for example an expense or salary. This is because we need to keep your historical accounting figures intact.
If a user is no longer part of your company, however, you might want to stop them appearing as an option in your account, for example, every time you allocate a payment. You can restore a hidden user at any time. Please note that hidden users can still log into the FreeAgent account unless their access level is reduced.
You can only manage user visibility if you have access to the Users area under Settings. If you don't see this option and wish to hide a user, contact your FreeAgent account owner.
1. Navigate to 'Settings' and select 'Users'
Select 'Settings' from the drop-down menu in the top-right corner and then select 'Users'.
2. Select the user you wish to hide
From the list of users, select the name of the user that you wish to hide to edit their profile.
3. Change status to 'Hidden'
Change the 'Status' option from 'Active' to 'Hidden', make sure the user's permission level is set to 0 and save your changes.
You can view all hidden users by selecting the 'Hidden' filter on the 'Users' page. Selecting the user's name will allow you to toggle their status at any time.
Why can't I hide a user?
A user can't be hidden if they're either the account owner, or are currently being reported on the company's payroll.