How to delete your FreeAgent account via the FreeAgent mobile app

This article explains how to permanently delete your FreeAgent account via the FreeAgent mobile app on iOS devices.

Please note that you won't be able to use the FreeAgent mobile app if you have an unincorporated landlord account.

If you choose to delete your FreeAgent account, you will immediately lose access to your account. Your data will also be scheduled for deletion seven days later and cannot be recovered after that date. As per our terms of service, we are unable to offer a pro-rata refund for any remaining period of unused subscription.

The functionality is available on iOS devices only. You’ll need full (level 8) access to your FreeAgent account to be able to delete your account.

Alternatively, if you’d like to stop paying for FreeAgent for now but think you might want to use it again in the future, you can cancel your FreeAgent subscription instead. If you do this, you will lose access to your account immediately but we'll store your account data securely for one year before automatically deleting it. This option would allow you to reactivate your account any time within one year of the cancellation date.

Before you start

Before you delete your FreeAgent account, please ensure that you log in to the desktop version and export any data that you may need to access at a later date.

You may also want to print copies of your Self Assessment tax returns, VAT returns, profit and loss reports, trial balances and balance sheet reports for future reference.

For any accounting reports in FreeAgent that don’t have a print option, you can either copy and paste the contents of the page to a spreadsheet, or print them as a PDF using your browser's print command ('Ctrl + P' if you're using a PC or 'Cmd + P' if you're using a Mac).

To save a copy of an invoice you've created in FreeAgent, navigate to the relevant invoice by selecting the ‘Work’ tab at the top of the screen and choosing ‘Invoicing’ from the drop-down menu. From the invoice, select ‘Save as PDF’ in the top-right. You will need to save each invoice individually.

How to delete your account

Open the FreeAgent mobile app on your iOS device and log in using your FreeAgent login details if prompted. If you’ve accessed the app recently, you may be logged in automatically.

Tap the three-lined 'hamburger' icon at the top-left of the FreeAgent mobile app and select your business name.

IMG_0250 copy 2.jpg

Select 'My details'.

IMG_0264 copy 2.jpg

Select ‘Delete Account’ at the bottom of the screen.

Delete_3.jpeg

This will bring up a login screen to log in to the desktop version of FreeAgent to complete the process. Enter your login credentials and select ‘Log me in!’.

Delete_4.jpeg

Once you’ve logged in, you’ll be taken to the ‘Delete Account’ screen.

If you’d prefer your subscription be cancelled and your data preserved for a year, select 'cancel your subscription'. Alternatively, if you'd prefer your data to be reset to allow you to start your FreeAgent account from scratch, select ‘reset your data’ instead of following the steps below.

IMG_0344.jpg

Next, review the implications of deleting your FreeAgent account.

IMG_0345.jpg

Tick the checkboxes to confirm that you understand the implications of deleting your FreeAgent account, then enter your password and select ‘Delete my account forever’ to complete the process.

IMG_0346.jpg

Once you've confirmed that you want to delete your account, it will be scheduled for deletion seven days later. After that period we will not be able to recover any of your data.

Did you find this article useful?