Managing your practice’s default add-on subscription settings

This article explains how to set up and update your practice’s default add-on subscription settings.

You can set up default settings for your practice that control whether your clients can activate add-ons themselves (if they’re the account owner or have full (level 8) access to FreeAgent), and whether the subscriptions will be paid for by the practice or by the client. These default settings can be overridden for individual clients.

Until the practice's default settings have been confirmed, clients will be able to activate add-ons and be responsible for the cost of the add-on. A practice's default settings can be confirmed by following the steps below.

Please note:

  • Only senior account managers can set up and update the practice’s default add-on subscription settings.

  • Setting or updating your practice’s default settings will not update existing subscriptions. If a client is currently paying for an add-on, they will need to cancel their subscription before the practice can update their settings and pay for the add-on. The client would retain access to the add-on until the end of their billing month and then the practice would start being billed for the subscription.

  • If your practice starts paying for a client’s add-on subscription during a month, the practice will be billed in the following month for the subscription.

  • It’s only possible for the practice to pay for an add-on if the client account has been transferred to the dashboard and the practice is managing their FreeAgent subscription. If the client is managing their FreeAgent subscription and their account has been linked to the dashboard, the client will have to pay for the add-on.

  • If your practice is currently paying for an add-on subscription and the add-on is cancelled, your practice will be billed in arrears for the add-on in the following month's invoice. The subscription will then be removed from all invoices after that. The client would retain access to the add-on until the end of the calendar month.

Setting up the practice’s default add-on subscription settings

Select ‘Add-ons’ from the drop-down menu below your practice name.

01.png

Select ‘Manage’ on the relevant add-on panel.

Manage highligted on Smart Capture Unlimited panel.png

First, select whether or not you’d like your clients to be able to activate the add-on themselves, by default. Selecting ‘Yes’ will allow your client to enable the add-on within their FreeAgent account if they’re the account owner or have full (level 8) access.

When this is set to ‘No’, your client will still be able to see and access the add-on within their account, but if they try to enable the add-on they’ll be presented with a message informing them that the add-on has been disabled and to contact their accountant directly.

03.png

Next, select whether you’d like the add-on subscription to be paid for by the client or the practice, if the add-on is activated, by default.

04.png

Once the default settings have been chosen for the add-on, select ‘Confirm settings and go to client list’ to complete the process.

05.png

This will display the add-on status for each of your clients. The status will initially be set to ‘Inactive’ until the add-on is activated. Find out how to manage a client’s add-on subscription.

06.png

The ‘Overview’ panel will display the default settings for who will pay for the add-on if activated. If you need to, you can update your practice’s default settings.

07.png

Updating the practice’s default add-on subscription settings

To make changes to the practice’s default settings, select ‘Manage default settings’.

08.png

Make any required changes to the default settings and select ‘Save’ to complete the process. Please note that only senior account managers can update the practice’s default add-on subscription settings which will not update existing subscriptions.

09.png

Did you find this article useful?